skip to contents

General Information

korea

Location

The Korean Peninsula extends about 1,000 km from the Asian continent into the Pacific Ocean with more than 3,000 islands dotting the coastline. Mountains cover almost 70 percent of the land mass, making the country one of the most mountainous regions in the world and offering abundant forest resources. Administratively, Korea consists of nine provinces with 77 small cities and 88 counties.

Weather

Autumn is a lovely time in Seoul. Temperatures start to cool, the sky is high and cobalt blue, and the hillsides are decorated with bright hues of gold and crimson. Seoul's royal palaces, with their extensive gardens filled with maple, ginkgo, and zelkova trees, are especially colorful and make for perfect fall outings. Many Seoulites take to the mountains to enjoy the colors and bask in the natural beauty. Korean autumn begins in September and ends in November. Chuseok, the Korean harvest celebration, falls in autumn.

Weather Details

Language

The Korean language, like Hungarian, Turkish, Mongolian and Finnish, is classified into the Ural-Altaic language group. Hangeul(한글), the Korean alphabet, is composed of 10 simple vowels and 14 consonants. A group of scholars under the patronage of King Sejong the Great developed this systematic rendition of spoken sound in 1443. It is widely acclaimed by linguists as an ingenious invention. In 2009, the town of Bau Bau in Sulawesi, Indonesia adopted Hangeul as their official written language.

Basic Expressions! Learn Easy Korean!

Time Difference

When Indicating Korea Time: Present Time (GMT+9) / No daylight savings time
City Time
Seoul, Tokyo (Korea Time) 01:00 04:00 07:00 10:00 13:00 16:00 19:00 22:00
Taipei, Manila, Hong Kong,
Kuala Lumpur, Singapore
24:00 03:00 06:00 09:00 12:00 15:00 18:00 21:00
Bangkok, Jakarta 23:00 02:00 05:00 08:00 11:00 14:00 17:00 20:00
New Delhi, Kolkata 21:30 00:30 03:30 06:30 09:30 12:30 15:30 18:30
Tehran 20:30 23:30 02:30 05:30 08:30 11:30 14:30 17:30
Tehran 20:30 23:30 02:30 05:30 08:30 11:30 14:30 17:30
Hamburg, Rome, Paris, Amsterdam 18:00 21:00 00:00 03:00 06:00 09:00 12:00 15:00
London, Madrid 17:00 20:00 23:00 02:00 05:00 08:00 11:00 14:00
Rio de Janeiro, S`ao Paulo 13:00 16:00 19:00 22:00 01:00 04:00 07:00 10:00
New York, Montreal, Bogota, Toronto 12:00 15:00 18:00 21:00 24:00 03:00 06:00 09:00
Chicago, Houston, Bogota 11:00 14:00 17:00 20:00 23:00 02:00 05:00 08:00
Vancouver, Seattle, San Francisco,
Los Angeles
09:00 12:00 15:00 18:00 21:00 24:00 03:00 06:00
Sydney, Melbourne 02:00 05:00 08:00 11:00 14:00 17:00 20:00 23:00

Business Hours

Government office hours are usually from 9:00 to 18:00 on weekdays. Banks are open from 9:00 to 16:00 on weekdays. Most stores are open every day from 10:30 to 20:00, including Sundays.

Currency & Exchange

50,000 won (oman won) 10,000 won (man won) 5,000 won (ocheon won) 1,000 won (cheon won)
Tip & Tax

Service charges are included in your bill for rooms, meals, and other services at hotels and upscale restaurants. Koreans occasionally do tip when they are especially pleased with the service they receive. Foreign tourists can receive nearly 10 % VAT refunds for purchases at Duty Free shops. Goods must be taken out of Korea within three months of purchase to be eligible for a tax refund. Visitors can receive refunds on receipts of minimum purchases of KRW 50,000 (around USD 43). To receive your refund, present receipts with the purchased goods at the customs clearance desk at Incheon International Airport when departing.

Electricity

The standard electricity supply is 220 volts AC/60 cycles. Most hotels may provide outlet converters for 110 and 220 volts. Participants are recommended to check with the hotel beforehand.

Emergency Phone number

1339 : Medical Emergency
119 : Emergencies for Fire, Rescue & Hospital Services
112 : Police
129 : First Aid Services

Useful Websites

Korea Tourism Organization : http://english.visitkorea.or.kr/enu/index.kto
Gateway to Korea : http ://www.korea.net
Seoul Tourism Organization : http://www.miceseoul.com
Seoul Metropolitan Government : http://english.visitseoul.net/index
Korea Immigration Service : http://www.immigration.go.kr/immigration_eng/index.do
Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade : http://www.mofa.go.kr/eng/index.do
Incheon International Airport : https://www.airport.kr/ap/en/index.do